After more than 5 years it is time to say good bye and this blog shuts its doors, but there is a follow up project.

Please visit

Thank you very much for all your support through out this time.

Sunday, October 16, 2011

Dan Hicks & His Hot Licks 1972 Striking It Rich

Genre: Folk-Rock
Rate: 256 kbps CBR / 44100
Time: 00:41:23
Size: 75,74 MB

United States

Dan Hicks And His Hot Licks were truly a sport of nature, one of those unique creations that come out of nowhere and defy categorization. Part folk, part Django Reinhardt homage, part Western swing, and part tongue in cheek; this outfit was as marvellously cracked as the palm tree scenery they brought with them everywhere. They were smart - but never condescending to their audience. Overall their music had the gentle, pleasant texture of lazy summer evenings when there is lots of time, little to do, and nothing to worry about.

Hicks is a terrific front man, but the secret of this group is found in the talent surrounding him. The Lickettes (easily the greatest name ever for a team of female back-up vocalists) have exquisite voices, and add smooth sweetness wherever they're found. Maryann Price and Naomi Ruth Eisenberg both sound marvellous when they solo, but the blend of their voices is heaven.

Sid Page on violin (and mandolin) provides the instrumental juice reminding you of Stephane Grappelly and all those Western swingers, check him out on Flight Of The Fly. The humour of Dan Hicks And His Hot Licks ranges from mild, I'm An Old Cowhand, to broad, O'Reilly At The Bar, to goofy, The Laughing Song, but it is never mean. With this outfit, fun is the name of the game.

Despite the hip sensibility that characterizes Dan Hicks, he is never better than when he is overtly sentimental. Songs like I Scare Myself, Canned Music, and the Western lullaby Presently In The Past, are so beautiful that it hurts. Dan Hicks And His Hot Licks always were hard to pigeonhole, perhaps that's why they've weathered the years so well. This one is just pure delight, can't recommend it highly enough. (El Lagarto


01 - You Got To Believe 02:58

02 - Walkin' One And Only 02:48

03 - O'reilly At The Bar 02:54

04 - Moody Richard (The Innocent Bystander) 04:02

05 - Flight Of The Fly 02:39

06 - I Scare Myself 05:46

07 - Philly Rag 00:38

08 - The Laughing Song 03:04

09 - Canned Music 03:35

10 - I'm An Old Cowhand (From The Rio Grande) 02:50

11 - Woe, The Luck 05:12

12 - Presently In The Past 03:15

13 - Skippy's Farewell 01:02

14 - Fujiyama 00:40

Dan Hicks & His Hot Licks here:

Ziddu (Accepts parallel downloads! No waiting!!)


No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...