After more than 5 years it is time to say good bye and this blog shuts its doors.

Thank you very much for all your support through out this time.

Tuesday, October 5, 2010

The Nitty Gritty Dirt Band 1967 Ricochet

Genre: Country-Folk-Rock
Rate: 320 kbps CBR / 44100
Time: 00:29:10
Size: 66,77 MB

Review by Bruce Eder

The Nitty Gritty Dirt Band's second album is a masterpiece. From the opening bars of Jackson Browne's "Shadow Dream Song," the high spirits overflow the grooves (or ones and zeros, on the CD) of the record. The singing and playing are more confident, and some of the songs -- including the bluesy "Ooh Po Pe Do Girl" and the hook-laden "I'll Search The Sky" by Jeff Hanna, and Copeland and Noonan's (the "Buy for Me the Rain" team) "Tide of Love" -- are as solid as anything coming out of California. Even the kazoo-dominated "Coney Island Washboard" and "Happy Fat Annie" and the nostalgic '20s-styled Jackson Browne-written "It's Raining Here in Long Beach" fit well into the mix, reflecting the full range of the band's influences.

As to why this record never caught on, it could be the timing -- released late in 1967, in the wake of Sergeant Pepper (which had its own musichall influences, albeit of the English variety, and covered with lots of psychedelic overdubbing) and the Summer of Love, it just wasn't what college kids starting their search for the Lost Chord were looking for. Maybe a kazoo or two less would've helped, and a real drug song or two wouldn't have hurt, but these guys would play a jug band number ahead of a drug anthem anytime. Their cover of Brewer and Shipley's "Truly Right" is pretty spacy in its production, though, but "The Teddy Bear's Picnic" -- an adaptation of an old children's song -- was probably beyond the pale of most listeners. Beyond NGDB completists, anyone looking for a companion to Notorious Byrd Bros. or the Monkees' Aquarius, Capricorn Pisces & Jones Ltd., or a precursor to Crazy Horse's At Crooked Lake, need look no further.


01 - Shadow Dream Song 02:35

02 - Ooh Po Pe Do Girl 03:05

03 - Coney Island Washboard 02:13

04 - Put A Bar In My Car 01:54

05 - It's Raining Here In Long Beach 02:19

06 - I'll Search The Sky 02:21

07 - Truly Right 02:42

08 - Tide Of Love 02:32

09 - Happy Fat Annie 02:05

10 - I'll Never Forget What's Her Name 02:39

11 - Call Again 02:27

12 - The Teddy Bear's Picnic 02:18

The Nitty Gritty Dirt Band here:

Get it!


Enjoy the music!

No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...