After more than 5 years it is time to say good bye and this blog shuts its doors.

Thank you very much for all your support through out this time.

Friday, August 30, 2013

Holland K. Smith 1999 Walking Heart Attack

Genre: Blues
Rate: 256 kbps CBR / 44100
Time: 00:45:55
Size: 84,08 MB

United States

Album Notes

The tradition of Texas blues is as wide as Texas itself. Sometimes it is easy to wonder if new blood can be struck from the same old vein. Just the opposite would be true of Holland K. Smith. In this, his second CD for Topcat records, Holland has achieved a consistency of feeling that is rare in today's blues recordings. His song writing is a breath of cool air in a crowded train car, something too refreshing to go un-noticed. The band used by Smith for the session was comprised of Eric Mathew on upright and Fender bass, and the superb drumming of Kevin Schermerhorn. Along with 'Gentleman' John Street on keyboards and the White Trash horn section featuring Steve Howard on trumpet and John Smith on sax, the trimmings are on the plate and the entree is being served up piping hot.

Holland knew exactly what he wanted and wouldn't give up until he achieved that end. Whether it be one of his ten self penned originals (check out Devil in The Deep Blue Sea), or his renditions of Jimmy Forest's Night Train or BB King's Beautician blues, Holland has moulded each number into his own instantly recognizable style. Topped with the superb production of Ace bluesman Anson Funderburgh this recording is destined to be enjoyed by many fans of blues and swing. The music presented here comprises Holland's contemporary and traditional elements blended together into music sure to garner a wide and dedicated following.


01 - Walking Heart Attack 04:07

02 - Devil & The Deep Blue Sea 04:30

03 - Deacon's Son 04:08

04 - Little Boy Blues 05:29

05 - Hypnotized 03:13

06 - Queen Of Sheeba 03:37

07 - This, That And The Other 03:11

08 - Take Me Back To Memphis 03:48

09 - Cindy Lee 02:26

10 - For Cryin' Out Loud 02:48

11 - Beautician Blues 03:40

12 - Night Train 04:58

Holland K. Smith here:



No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...