After more than 5 years it is time to say good bye and this blog shuts its doors, but there is a follow up project.

Please visit

Thank you very much for all your support through out this time.

Thursday, May 3, 2012

Johnny V's Blues Allstars 1996 If My Daddy Could See Me Now

Genre: Blues
Rate: 320 kbps CBR / 44100
Time: 00:53:56
Size: 123,31 MB


Review by Ann Wickstrom

If My Daddy Could See Me Now features the heartfelt music of one of Canada's most prominent blues performers. Originally from Toronto, Johnny V -- whose real last name is Mills -- moved to Calgary in 1979 and got serious about the blues after growing up listening to his father play acoustic blues guitar and harp. Just before he died in 1976, Johnny V's "Daddy" made him promise that he would follow music, something his father could never really do since he was struggling to raise six children. In 1996, V was chosen as Best Canadian Guitarist by the West Coast Blues Review. In addition, he works as a session man and record producer. The Allstars are a seven-piece band that includes piano, organ, sax, and trumpet.

If My Daddy Could See Me Now is as much a tender and touching release as it is a smokin' affair. Tunes range from swing (Ruth Brown's "As Long As I'm Movin") to slide (the V original "I Ain't Gonna Dust My Broom Again," an interesting take on the Robert Johnson/Elmore James classic). In addition to five other fine originals and one of his dad's, "Depression Blues," Mills throws in a couple of horn-punctuated Son Seals songs ("Four Full Seasons of Love" and "Don't Bother Me) as well as one from Magic Sam ("You Belong to Me"). One of the best cuts, however, is a spare, guitar-bass-drums-only approach to the blues standard "Next Time You See Me." From the sly dusting of the brushes on the snare to the haunting echo in Johnny's guitar, this tune is bad to the bone. Much like Little Junior Parker's version, it couldn't possibly be any slower, or any better. Johnny V's sound is definitely within the blues realm, yet he doesn't sound entirely like any other blues performer. Johnny V is his own man. This album will warm you up inside!


01 - As Long As I'm Movin 04:18

02 - Four Full Seasons Of Love 03:20

03 - Maxine 02:59

04 - I Ain't Gonna Dust My Broom Again 05:56

05 - Don't Bother Me 03:58

06 - Walkin' Blues 03:57

07 - Next Time You See Me 05:17

08 - 29 Ways 01:41

09 - Missin' The Flu 02:57

10 - What's Up With You 03:52

11 - Is This The Game To Play 04:19

12 - You Belong To Me 04:54

13 - The Depression Blues 03:38

14 - Mail My Letter 02:50

Johnny V's Blues Allstars here:

On request of the artist, please visit his website:

or check out his bio:



No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...