After more than 5 years it is time to say good bye and this blog shuts its doors.

Thank you very much for all your support through out this time.

Friday, January 31, 2014

Nick Moss & The Flip Tops 2003 Count Your Blessings

Genre: Blues
Rate: 192 kbps CBR / 44100
Time: 01:17:16
Size: 106,04 MB

United States

Following up on his 2001 release, 'Got A New Plan', wasn't going to be an easy move for Nick Moss and his band, The Flip Tops. The wide-ranging critical acclaim for his last disc landed in blues publications on both sides of the Atlantic Ocean and as far away as Japan and Australia with the general consensus echoing the idea that Moss could well be the future of blues. With 'Count Your Blessings', the votes shouldn't sway a peg. Nick Moss & The Flip Tops still consist of harrowing guitar and booming vocals courtesy of Moss, plus the tried-and-tested rhythm section of Andy Lester and Greg Campbell, and there are plenty of guests this time around as well. Nick's recent bride, Kate, handles additional guitar chores and Barrelhouse Chuck has become a full-time member, but adding the talents of Anson Funderburgh, Sam Myers, Lynwood Slim, Curtis Salgado, Johnny Bradley, Willie "Big Eyes" Smith, and Bob Stroger make the party an even bigger success than most should have expected.

If one thing is immediately evident it's that there's more of a flat-out Chicago feel present on this new release due in part to the material as well as the congregation gathered to spread the gospel. Curtis Salgado's harmonica work is ridiculously good, and while that should come as no big surprise to those familiar with his work, it might cause some to wonder why he doesn't play anywhere near as much on his own discs. Nick's guitar and voice play perfect foil to each other; while his vocals are projected smoothly with plenty of feel, his guitar playing has the dirt and grime of Chicago's tenement neighborhoods, and the inclusion of Barrelhouse Chuck's keyboard abilities complement the outcome with heavy doses of Otis Spann, Sunnyland Slim, and other fallen Windy City heroes. Highlights over the first half of the CD are far too numerous to list but Heavy On My Mind exudes more Chicago grit than a Southside gutter, Do You Know is astounding with an infectious push-and-pull groove, I'm Mad features broomdusting guitar and two-fisted piano, and Porchlight sports a distinct funkified approach. A little better than the first half of the disc is made up of sharp originals while the second half pulls together Leroy Carr's Barrelhouse Woman, Floyd Jones' Ain't Times Hard, Big Bill Broonzy's Hey, Hey, A.C. Reed's This Little Voice, Sonny Boy II's She Brought Life Back To The Dead, and more, but there's no discernable difference between the Moss-penned items and the golden gems chosen as covers.

Nick Moss & The Flip Tops are the real and raw deal, but don't take some reviewer's word for it, grab Count Your Blessings and find out for yourself! has additional CDs, gigging schedules, t-shirts, gadgets, and all-around fun stuff. (Craig Ruskey)


01 - Heavy On My Mind 06:03

02 - Count Your Blessings 03:50

03 - Gold Digger 04:42

04 - Do You Know 05:16

05 - Hip Toss 05:14

06 - Porchlight 04:12

07 - I'm Mad 05:59

08 - So Tired 05:43

09 - Panic Attack 05:33

10 - Break Bad 04:38

11 - W-A-S-T-E-D 03:00

12 - Barrelhouse Woman 02:58

13 - Ain't Times Hard 04:02

14 - Hey Hey (Bonus Track) 03:11

15 - This Little Voice (Bonus Track) 02:19

16 - I Chose To Sing The Blues (Bonus Track) 04:18

17 - She Brought Life Back To The Dead (Bonus Track) 02:49

18 - Lightnin' (Bonus Track) 03:29

Nick Moss & The Flip Tops here:



No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...