After more than 5 years it is time to say good bye and this blog shuts its doors, but there is a follow up project.

Please visit

Thank you very much for all your support through out this time.

Tuesday, February 7, 2012

The British Blues Quintet feat. Maggie Bell 2007 Live In Glasgow

Rate: 320 kbps CBR / 44100
Time: 01:17:57
Size: 178,37 MB

United Kingdom

Review by Jo-Ann Greene

The British Blues Quintet didn't intend on recording their March, 2007 performance in Glasgow, Scotland. But their soundman obviously had a good feeling about the gig, and began rolling the tape during the second song, for which fans will be eternally grateful, because this was one heck of a show. Of course, playing in Maggie Bell's hometown was invariably going to draw a large, appreciative audience. However, Britain's celebrated blues singer isn't the only legend among BBQ's ranks, which also features her old Stone the Crows' bandmate, drummer Colin Allen, keyboardist Zoot Money, ex-Keef Hartley Band guitarist Miller Anderson, and bassist Colin Hodgkinson. And besides, Bell is only on-stage for half the show, with the latter three men divvying up the vocals between them.

The set list is drawn from both the members' own compositions as well as astutely chosen covers. One of the best of the latter is their sensational take on the Staple Singers' "Respect Yourself," which kicks off in the Delta, travels up to funkytown, and ends in British Invasion territory. Willie Dixon's "I Just Wanna' Make Love to You" gets an equally phenomenal workout, with Bell making this song her own, while the band trots out their best blues licks. And if you're wondering why after all these years these Brits are still singing the blues, Anderson answers that question in spades on his own fabulous "Fog on the Highway." And whether they're reinventing other's classics, like Free's "Wishing Well," which takes on new urgency by aiming it straight at Bush and Blair, or resurrecting their own, such as their steaming take on Stone the Crows' "Penicillin Blues," BBQ bring down the house. Although not always in blues fashion, as the band storm into rocking R&B and spin off into jazzier realms, exploring just about every style of blues and R&B along the way. An absolutely sensational show thankfully captured for posterity.


01 - What You Got Is So Good 04:21

02 - As The Years Go Passing By 04:33

03 - San Francisco Bay Blues 03:47

04 - Tramp 'em Up Solid 05:10

05 - It Never Rains But It Pours 05:07

06 - Wishing Well 05:31

07 - That's The Way I Feel 04:37

08 - Penicillin Blues 04:53

09 - Walkin' Blues 05:18

10 - I Wanna' Thank You Baby 04:45

11 - Fog On The Highway 07:55

12 - Houston 04:09

13 - I Just Wanna' Make Love To You 09:12

14 - Respect Yourself 08:39

Highly recommend!

The British Blues Quintet feat. Maggie Bell here:

Ziddu (Accepts parallel downloads! No waiting!!)


1 comment:

juan manuel muñoz said...

muchas gracias, excelente disco

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...