After more than 5 years it is time to say good bye and this blog shuts its doors.

Thank you very much for all your support through out this time.

Monday, November 25, 2013

Nine Below Zero 1980 Live At The Marquee

Genre: Blues
Rate: 224 kbps CBR / 44100
Time: 01:13:15
Size: 135,05 MB

United Kingdom

Review by Bruce Eder

Nine Below Zero had only released one record prior to this live album, a self-produced EP, but they'd already gotten over a hundred gigs under their belt by the time the U.K. division of A&M Records signed them. The label wisely decided that a live recording was the way to break this band. The result was a classic artifact of the late British punk scene, a searing blues-rock set that recalled the energy of the early performances of the Rolling Stones, the Pretty Things, and the Animals, but presented in a manner closer to the punk era that had just come to a close and which slotted right in with the contemporary mod revival. Anyone who enjoyed the first three or four Dr. Feelgood albums should definitely try Live at the Marquee on for size.

The covers range all over the R&B map, including Willie Dixon (whose "I Can't Quit You Baby" gets a killer extended rendition that never lets up in intensity), Holland-Dozier-Holland, and Sam the Sham & the Pharaohs, interspersed with a handful of band originals, of which lead guitarist Dennis Greaves' wild, crunchy "Stop Your Naggin'" is the highlight. And the recording itself strikes a perfect balance between a close, personal band sound and a fair level of room ambience and crowd presence.


01 - Tore Down 02:50

02 - Straighten Her Out 02:27

03 - Homework 02:37

04 - I Can't Help Myself 02:21

05 - Can I Get A Witness 03:18

06 - Ridin' On The L & N 04:10

07 - I Can't Quit You 06:17

08 - Stop Your Nagging 02:29

09 - Hoochie Coochie Coo 02:30

10 - Wooly Bully 02:51

11 - Got My Mojo Working 06:12

12 - Pack Fair & Square 02:27

13 - Watch Yourself 04:19

14 - Swing Job 02:33

15 - Rocket 88 (Encore) 02:58

16 - (Just A) Little Bit (Encore) 02:21

17 - Twenty Yards Behind (Encore) 01:59

18 - Stormy Monday (Encore) 04:48

19 - Is That You (Encore) 02:25

20 - Keep On Knocking (Encore) 05:25

21 - Madison Blues (Encore) 05:58

Nine Below Zero here:



Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...