After more than 5 years it is time to say good bye and this blog shuts its doors, but there is a follow up project.

Please visit

Thank you very much for all your support through out this time.

Wednesday, April 23, 2014

Michael Messer 2001 King Guitar

Genre: Blues
Rate: 192 kbps CBR / 44100
Time: 01:13:48
Size: 101,38 MB

United Kingdom

Review by Ronnie D. Lankford, Jr.

There's something fun and catchy about Michael Messer's eclectic album, King Guitar. Although the guitar featured on the cover is a vintage acoustic model, the music runs the gauntlet between down-and-dirty electric blues and quiet Delta slide. In a way, this mixture is sort of like an early Fleetwood Mac, with Peter Green and Jeremy Spencer bringing different blues styles together in one group. Messer, however, accomplishes all of this by himself. His acoustic slide guitar is the epitome of taste on the lovely "Crow Blues" and the happy, upbeat "Steel Guitar Blues." His playing style seems centered on laying down what works best for a particular song as opposed to showing off.

The title cut features rousing electric slide and stirring background vocals, while "Lone Wolf Blues" offers a stinging slide tribute to the single life. The humming and moaning of "Rollin' n' Tumblin'" is set to steady percussion and lively slide, creating a compelling and primitive spiritual, while "Drivin' Wheel Blues Part Two" adds Little Feat funk to the program, with Andy Crowdy's bass holding up the bottom end and propelling the music forward.

Messer's vocals comfortably bridge the gap of the multiple styles on King Guitar, and the material manages to remain original while staying within the blues tradition. The twists and turns of King Guitar keep the listener alert, wondering what interesting arrangement will show up on the next cut. The album's length is generous, with 17 cuts and over 70 minutes of music. For blues fans looking for an eclectic touch, King Guitar delivers and then some.


01 - King Guitar 02:55

02 - Living In Rhythm 03:29

03 - Lone Wolf Blues 03:38

04 - Crow Blues 04:27

05 - Step Right Up 03:39

06 - Driving Wheels Blues Pt1 04:37

07 - Worried Life 07:08

08 - Steel Guitar Blues 03:36

09 - Rollin And Tumblin 03:53

10 - Right Hand Road 00:31

11 - Drivin Wheel Blues Pt 2 06:26

12 - Diving Duck 03:43

13 - Rising Sun Blues 04:01

14 - Can't Be Satisfied 04:04

15 - Robert Johnson's Wakes 05:31

16 - Cannon Ball Blues 08:32

17 - Moonbeat 03:38

Michael Messer here:


No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...