After more than 5 years it is time to say good bye and this blog shuts its doors, but there is a follow up project.

Please visit

Thank you very much for all your support through out this time.

Thursday, July 17, 2014

John Mayall & The Bluesbreakers 2007 In The Palace Of The King (A Tribute To Freddie King)

Genre: Blues
Rate: 320 kbps CBR / 44100
Time: 00:59:31
Size: 136,15 MB

United Kingdom

Review by Greg Prato

It's common knowledge that two of the most renowned blues guitarists of all time happened to share the same last name (no relation though): B.B. King and Albert King. But there was also another "King" of the blues, Freddie King, and while he doesn't seem to rake in the same amount of accolades as the other two players, blues buffs far and wide know Freddie was a force to be reckoned with. And one of his biggest admirers through the years has been John Mayall, whose band, the Bluesbreakers, has been covering Freddie King songs since their inception in the '60s. However, on his 56th album overall (!), Mayall offers an album's worth of songs that Freddie King had either written, inspired, or was "closely associated with," for 2007's In the Palace of the King. Stylistically similar to Mayall's last studio effort (2005's solid Road Dogs), Palace is full of tasty blues guitar throughout, with Buddy Whittington supplying the lion's share of the lead work, especially on such standouts as "Palace of the King." But one of the album's undisputed highlights is "Cannonball Shuffle," an instrumental track that features some fine soloing from Robben Ford (who also solely penned the tune). And for guitarists who are looking to jam along with the album, Mayall was kind enough to list what key each song is in (inside the CD booklet). In the Palace of the King is a much-deserved tribute to one of the blues' greatest yet oft-overlooked guitarists.


01 - You Know That You Love Me 03:20

02 - Going Down 04:48

03 - Some Other Day, Some Other Time 03:01

04 - Palace Of The King 03:28

05 - I'd Rather Be Blind 03:57

06 - Time To Go 06:44

07 - Big Legged Woman 03:57

08 - Now I've Got A Woman 04:24

09 - I Love You More Every Day 03:02

10 - Help Me Through The Day 05:43

11 - Cannonball Shuffle 04:20

12 - You've Got Me Licked 03:36

13 - King Of The Kings 04:21

14 - Living On The Highway 04:50

John Mayall & The Bluesbreakers here:



No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...