After more than 5 years it is time to say good bye and this blog shuts its doors.

Thank you very much for all your support through out this time.

Thursday, January 3, 2013

Geoff Achison 1996 Mystery Train

Genre: Blues
Rate: 192 kbps CBR / 44100
Time: 01:09:08
Size: 94,97 MB


"Mystery Train" is a solo acoustic recording that was originally released in 1996 by highly regarded Australian singer/guitarist Geoff Achison. Achison is an exciting guitarist who picked up the Albert King Award for most promising guitarist at the Blues Foundation's 12th Annual International Blues Talent Competition in 1995. One of the pieces he played there ("Train Ride") resurfaces here, fairly rattling along behind a version of Junior Parker's "Mystery Train." It is one of three original compositions here, which sit comfortably alongside a diverse collection of covers which runs from easy listening ("Can't Help Falling In Love"!) through to the more traditional Delta blues territory of Robert Johnson.

Achison pretty much wears his heart on his sleeve in the way he interprets roots and blues music. He instills new life into older material such as Robert Johnson's "Walking Blues" and Elmore James' "The Sky is Crying"--probably the best track here--without ever detracting from the passion and intensity of the original. He is not afraid to look beyond the blues for influences either, which is perhaps best illustrated on "Chaser," where the guitar playing owes something to the flamenco style. The only other person I can think of who successfully achieves a similar hybrid style is Adrian Byron Burns.

If you need an introduction to Geoff Achison, "Mystery Train" is a good place to start. It highlights Achison's soulful vocals and highly expressive guitar playing. Indeed, Achison's fretwork is so highly regarded that he holds the only Gibson guitar endorsement deal in the Southern hemisphere. (This review is copyright © 2000 by Gordon Baxter)


01 - That's Alright Mama 06:04

02 - When You've Got A Good Friend 04:22

03 - Gimmie Some Lovin' 04:19

04 - Walking Blues 03:16

05 - Guilty 05:16

06 - Mystery Train - Train Ride 07:05

07 - Rambling On My Mind 04:16

08 - Chaser - Well Alright 06:34

09 - Can't Help Falling In Love 04:43

10 - Christine 03:37

11 - Rolling Stone 07:36

12 - The Sky Is Crying 06:34

13 - Rain Song 05:26

Geoff Achison here:



No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...