After more than 5 years it is time to say good bye and this blog shuts its doors.

Thank you very much for all your support through out this time.

Sunday, January 27, 2013

Johnny Nicholas 2001 Thrill On The Hill

Genre: Blues
Rate: 320 kbps CBR / 44100
Time: 00:58:07
Size: 133,14 MB

United States

Album Notes

In 1980, after twenty years of the blues scenes of Providence, Detroit-Ann Arbor, Chicago, the Bay Area, the Cajun country of Louisiana, and Texas - performing with Duke Robillard, Steve Nordella, Big Walter Horton, Asleep At The Wheel and Johnny Shine (Nicholas played on and produced the late Johnny Shine's last album with Snooky Pryor), Johnny Moved to the Hill Country outside Austin and opened the Hilltop Cafe, inconveniently located in the middle of nowhere (10 miles north of Fredericksburg, Texas) Until 1991, that was the only way you could hear Nicholas on any recording.

Then in 1994, Antones released his CD Thrill On The Hill, a live CD which brought him again to the forefront of the world blues scene. By popular demand, TopCat Records is re-releasing this gem with 4 great bonus tracks from the original sessions. Thrill on the Hill was recorded live on location, direct to two track at the Hilltop Café.

Thrill on the Hill was performed with cronies Jack Barber on bass, C.C. Pinkston on drums, Floyd Domino and Ernie Bowser alternating on piano and producer Stephen Bruton sitting in on several instruments. Johnny Nicholas plays guitar, harp, mandolin and keyboards. Nicholas forges a lean, slicing attack held in place by a bedrock-firm bottom reminiscent of the early Chess sessions. Every fan of Johnny's and the "real stuff" will be thrilled to add this new Topcat release to their collection. This CD is proof of Johnny Nicholas' blues acumen and is a joy to listen to. Without a doubt, this CD is a testament to the fact that Johnny is back in force. Welcome to the Hilltop!


01 - Kind Hearted Woman 04:24

02 - House Cleaning Blues 03:39

03 - My Rice Ain't Got No Gravy 02:55

04 - Prince Charming 04:07

05 - Blue & Lonesome 04:17

06 - Mandolin Boogie 03:38

07 - John The Revelator 03:46

08 - Sleeping With The Devil 03:33

09 - Lets Go To Big Houston 02:45

10 - Tomorrow Night 04:36

11 - Johnnys Deathray Boogie 04:33

12 - Mandolin Moan (Bonus Track) 05:00

13 - Stones In My Pathway (Bonus Track) 05:19

14 - Thinnking Bout Junior (Bonus Track) 02:13

15 - Phonograph Blues (Bonus Track) 03:22

Johnny Nicholas here:




No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...