After more than 5 years it is time to say good bye and this blog shuts its doors, but there is a follow up project.

Please visit

Thank you very much for all your support through out this time.

Tuesday, September 24, 2013

The Juke Joints 2010 Going To Chicago!

Genre: Blues
Rate: 320 kbps CBR / 44100
Time: 00:51:38
Size: 118,04 MB


When Juke Joints leadsinger/drummer Peter Kempe visited the 2008 Chicago Blues Festival, he was so impressed with Eddie "The Chief" Clearwater's performance there, that he simply had to have a word with him after his show. This resulted in an invitation to their Kwadendamme Blues Festival in 2009. Eddy fired on all cylinders and The Juke Joints excelled as his backing band. This cooperation led to mutual enthusiasm, more shows around Europe and the determination to record together as soon as possible.The contact with Eddy Clearwater, whose latest (Alligator Records) album 'West Side Strut' was recorded in the Rax Trax Studios with renowned producer Ronnie Baker Brooks, opened up the doors to that same studio for The Juke Joints and in June 2010 they made the long-awaited trip to the home of the blues, Chicago. There they recorded what surely must be The Juke Joints' magnum opus, with a collection of songs that of course includes plenty of the high energy rhythm 'n' blues, and shuffles and boogies that have earned them so much praise. However, there are also ventures up, until now, un-trodden paths.

Stand out tracks include "Stax Sound", which has that inimitable Stax soul groove that Peter Kempe experienced when visiting the legendary Stax studio. There is a heartbreaking ballad, "Goodbye Baby", with some beautiful acoustic guitar and driven on by a massive Hammond organ sound, a track that will no doubt enthuse large, lighter-toting audiences. Guitarist Michel Staat shows his wizardry in the enthralling slow blues "Bad Bad Feeling" and "Strollin' Down Lincoln Av." is a jazzy instrumental, highlighting Sonny Boy van der Broek's awesome talents on the chromatic harp.


Female blues guitar slinger Ana Popovic shines on slide on "Make A Stand" which evokes fond memories of John Lee Hooker. Absolutely top-notch is the closing track "Going To Chicago", penned by Ronnie Baker Brooks especially for this album, with Eddy Clearwater really letting loose on electric guitar. Producer Brooks belts out some great guitar solos here as well, and provides solid support on vocals and rhythm guitar.

A highly diverse album it has become indeed, which is to be released worldwide and which should win The Juke Joints global recognition as one of the most energetic rock rollin' blues bands around. (


01 - This Is It 03:06

02 - Magic Shoes 02:54

03 - Stax Sound 03:21

04 - Goodbye Baby 04:23

05 - Two Hearts 04:35

06 - Hard Times 03:47

07 - Bad Bad Feeling 05:51

08 - Time Will Tell 04:14

09 - Strollin' On Lincoln Av. 04:21

10 - Addicted To The Blues 03:18

11 - Rock My Soul 03:19

12 - Make A Stand (With Ana Popovic) 03:04

13 - Going To Chicago (With Ronnie Baker Brooks And Eddy 'The Chief' Clearwater) 05:25

The Juke Joints here:



No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...