After more than 5 years it is time to say good bye and this blog shuts its doors.

Thank you very much for all your support through out this time.

Sunday, February 9, 2014

Fat 1970 Fat

Genre: Southern Rock
Rate: 256 kbps CBR / 44100
Time: 00:42:01
Size: 76,89 MB

United States

Produced by Eddie Jason, 1970's "Fat" is a fantastic and completely overlooked near-classic (a couple of online references say RCA only pressed 400 copies of their debut album). At least to my ears this Massachusetts-based quintet seemed to have everything required for major stardom - a great singer in Peter Newland, killer chops including a pair of impressive lead guitarists in Michael Benson and James Kaminski, and a rock steady rhythm section in drummer William Benjamin and bassist Guy DeVito. That line up coupled with more than their share of first-rate material that was simultaneously tuneful and lyrically interesting made for a great LP. No wonder they met with zilch in terms of commercial success.

With Benson, Kaminski and Newland sharing writing credits, tracks like 'House On the Corner', 'Mine Eyes Have Seen' (with an unexpected jazzy closing segment, the Cream inspired 'Country Girl', and the ballad 'Lonely Lady' (sounding uncannily like something a 1990s band like Creed might have recorded) were tailor made for FM radio. Elsewhere RCA tapped the album for a quickly forgotten single in 'The Shape I'm In' b/w 'Over the Hill' (RCA catalog number 47-9913). The 'A" side happened to be the most top-40 commercial effort on the album and should have generated considerable airplay. Perhaps not a great comparison, but imagine "Can't Buy a Thrill" era Steely Dan had they decided to pursue their rock roots rather than going jazzy and pseudo-sophisticated. All hyperbole aside, these guys had it all and this is one of a handful of albums that I've bothered transferring to CDR for personnel use. (RDTEN1)


01 - House On The Corner 03:06

02 - Black Sunday 03:20

03 - Mine Eyes Have Seen 04:11

04 - Lonely Lady 04:46

05 - Journey 05:03

06 - Shape I'm In 02:29

07 - Country Girl 05:44

08 - Over The Hill 03:12

09 - Duck Sweat 04:04

10 - Highway 06:06

Fat here:


No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...