After more than 5 years it is time to say good bye and this blog shuts its doors.

Thank you very much for all your support through out this time.

Wednesday, February 5, 2014

Nick Moss & The Flip Tops 2006 Live At Chan's

Genre: Blues
Rate: 320 kbps CBR / 44100
Time: 01:16:21
Size: 174,67 MB

United States

Nick Moss & The Flip Tops are one of the hardest working blues bands out there right now, and are also among the torch-bearers of the hard, ensemble-based Chicago-style blues. If you like your blues in the style of that made famous during the ‘50s and ‘60s, in the style of the magnificent Magic Slim & The Teardrops, then the Flip Tops are the band for you. In addition to leading The Flip Tops, Nick Moss also runs his own record label, Blue Bella, along with his wife Kate. Check out other releases on Blue Bella; you will not be sorry.

This CD, Live At Chan’s, was recorded in Woonsocket, Rhode Island back in July 2005, and was released in 2006. It contains 76 minutes of hot, thumping, grooving, muscular Chicago blues, and retains the feel of an actual live set. The typical live band line-up is Moss on guitar, Gerry Hundt on bass, Piano Willie Oshawny on keys, along with a drummer. On this recording the drummer was Victor Spann. During the course of a Flip Tops show the guys enjoy swapping instruments, and you’ll find Nick Moss on harp or bass, Hundt on harp, guitar, mandolin or keys, and Oshawny on bass. As if that isn’t fun enough, for this recording the band invited local-boy-made-great-blues-guitarist Monster Mike Welch to play on several songs as a 2nd guitarist.

Nick takes the lead vocals on all but one song here (he should have taken all the vocals, or left the other track as an instrumental). Personally, I hear a lot of Jr. Wells influences in Nick’s singing style, although Nick’s voice is deeper. Nick had developed into a fine lead singer by the time this CD was recorded, and he’s only gotten better since. (


01 - Eggroll Stroll 07:16

02 - Check My Pulse 05:46

03 - I Love The Woman 10:10

04 - I Never Forget 07:03

05 - One-Eyed Jack 07:19

06 - Your Red Wagon 06:29

07 - Just Like That 04:42

08 - It's Good In Your Neighbourhood 07:03

09 - The End 07:46

10 - Wine-O-Baby Boogie 05:36

11 - Move Over, Morris 07:07

Nick Moss & The Flip Tops here:



Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...