After more than 5 years it is time to say good bye and this blog shuts its doors.

Thank you very much for all your support through out this time.

Sunday, November 2, 2014

Kenny Brown 2003 Stingray

Genre: Blues
Rate: 320 kbps CBR / 44100
Time: 00:39:22
Size: 90,21 MB

United States

The CD is a fusion filled mix of country, Memphis funk, blues and rock. The CD opens with a bang with "If Down Was Up" which features some punchy sax from a man they call "Jeff". The opener provides some contrast to the rather laid back feel of most of the other tunes on the disc. Brown manages to cover a couple of tunes from label mate, R.L. Burnside, "Miss Maybelle" and "Goin' Down South" and provides a stand out interpretation of Fred McDowell's "Shake 'Em On Down". Cedric Burnside, R.L.'s grandson who also plays on the new Mississippi Allstars CD, provides the drums while Takeeshi Imura fills the backbeat with his bass. This is some raw and potent stuff. Another Fat Possum winner. (deepbluereview)


01 - If Down Was Up 03:08

02 - Miss Maybelle 03:08

03 - All I Want 03:34

04 - Cocaine Bill 02:38

05 - France Chance 04:23

06 - Goin' Down South 04:33

07 - You Don't Know My Mind 03:39

08 - Shake Em'on Down 04:08

09 - Lonesome Katy Blues 02:23

10 - Brought You To The City 04:03

11 - Fare Thee Well Blues 03:45

Kenny Brown here:



No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...