After more than 5 years it is time to say good bye and this blog shuts its doors, but there is a follow up project.

Please visit

Thank you very much for all your support through out this time.

Saturday, June 9, 2012

Benny Valerio & Texas Thunder 1997 Surrounded By The Blues

Genre: Blues
Rate: 320 kbps CBR / 44100
Time: 00:47:10
Size: 107,88 MB

United States

Benny started playing guitar at the age of 14 with money he had earned from his newspaper route. From the beginning all of his style was learned on his own or from records. He has never taken any guitar lessons. Another fact of interest about Benny is that he is a southpaw player like his biggest influence, Jimi Hendrix.

Within a few years he and brother Danny were hosting jams at clubs around Houston which included such future stars as Johnny & Edgar Winter and Billy Preston. These are times Benny & Danny talk about a lot as very influential in their styles and tastes in music.

After a tour of Vietnam with the Marines in the late '60s where he found himself at the seige at Khe Sanh Benny returned to Houston in 1969 to concentrate on good ol' Texas Blues being very glad to be alive when a lot of the guys he had known in Vietnam did not make it back at all.

Benny played with several different bands during the 70s, including Houston Natural Gas, Mandrake and Rattlesnake with Johnny Winter. Benny got lucky and came to the attention of Freddie King and was honoured to be able to play in Freddie's band for a while in 1972. In the Freddie King Band Benny was able to play the true Texas Blues he enjoyed the most every night.

Thru it all Benny's first love is Texas Blues which you will find plenty of on Surrounded by the Blues along with some tasty blues rock. With the help of Kaz Kazanoff on sax, Riley Osbourn on keyboards and Derek O'Brien on guitar Benny has made a very diverse blues album with Surrounded by the Blues. (


01 - Intro: Wolf Talk 00:17

02 - Lik It 'n' Stik It 03:23

03 - Stop Being A Fool 02:56

04 - Mucho Mojo 04:55

05 - Texas Thunder 07:06

06 - Rollin' Up 290 04:22

07 - Burning Up The Night 03:33

08 - Love Me Or Leave Me 06:49

09 - Honey Bee 03:26

10 - I Got What You Need 02:53

11 - Satisfied 03:30

12 - Surrounded By The Blues 04:00

Benny Valerio & Texas Thunder here:



No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...