After more than 5 years it is time to say good bye and this blog shuts its doors, but there is a follow up project.

Please visit

Thank you very much for all your support through out this time.

Thursday, June 7, 2012

Ronnie Earl & The Broadcasters 1995 Blues Guitar Virtuoso Live In Europe

Genre: Blues
Rate: 320 kbps CBR / 44100
Time: 01:14:04
Size: 169,43 MB

United States

review by Ann Wickstrom

Although not released until 1995, this CD was recorded live in 1993 in Bremen, Germany. Live in Europe is Earl's tribute to his major influences, and Ronnie plays his favourite guitar throughout: a 1962 red Strat.

The fast, driving "San-Ho-Zay" and "Blues for the West Side" go out to Magic Sam; "The Stumble" to Freddie King; "Thank You Mr. T-Bone" to T-Bone Walker and Duke Robillard (who inspired Earl to learn T-Bone). "Thank You Mr. T-Bone" features some cool call-and-response between Earl and Bruce Katz on the Hammond B-3. It segues nicely into "Akos," where you'll find more great B-3 (check out the improvised "Summertime" riff). An all-instrumental offering, Live in Europe includes a handful of tunes found on its predecessor, Still River, including "Szeren," "Rego Park Blues," and the aforementioned "Blues for the West Side." "Contrition," a slow, soulful tune penned by Katz, has some jaw-dropping runs by Earl. One can only imagine what it must have been like to be one of the lucky souls at this show. Still, it's this reviewer's all-time favorite album -- thank you, Mr. Earl.


01 - San-Ho-Zay 05:23

02 - Robert Nighthawk Stomp 03:29

03 - Thank You Mr. T-Bone 04:59

04 - Akos 05:19

05 - Contrition 06:23

06 - Moanin' 04:18

07 - Blues For The West Side (With Love To Magic Sam) 06:17

08 - The Stumble 04:25

09 - Szeren 04:44

10 - Blues For Henry 07:58

11 - Not Now Kovitch 05:16

12 - Rego Park Blues 15:33

Ronnie Earl & The Broadcasters here:



No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...