After more than 5 years it is time to say good bye and this blog shuts its doors, but there is a follow up project.

Please visit

Thank you very much for all your support through out this time.

Tuesday, October 30, 2012

Go 1976 Go

Genre: Progressive Rock
Rate: 320 kbps CBR / 44100
Time: 00:41:12
Size: 94,41 MB

Japan United States United Kingdom Germany

review by Lindsay Planer

Go (1976) is a concept album in the truest sense of the term, fusing pop/rock with tinges of jazz and elements of classical all connected by a central motif of space travel. More specifically, according to Robin Denselow's liner essay, the theme deals with "change and polarity-fantasy and reality, death and re-birth, things changing to their opposites."

Stomu Yamashta, Steve Winwood and Michael Shrieve lead an impressive ensemble through soundscapes, unveiled in a variety of perspectives. Perhaps it is the international cast of performers that allows for such an unfettered consortium of ideas that brought together former Spencer Davis Group, Traffic and Blind Faith member Steve Winwood, as well as Santana co-founder Michael Shrieve and mid-'70s era Santana percussionist Yamashta -- the latter of whom were key benefactors to the criminally underrated Santana long-player Borboletta (1974). Ably assisting the festivities are Return to Forever's Al DiMeola (guitar), Klaus Schulze (synthesizer) whose contributions to Tangerine Dream and Ash Ra Tempel remain unequaled, and Winwood's one-time Traffic accomplice Rosko Gee (bass), who also had a fruitful run with Can.

Each side of the original LP contains a complete suite of interconnected and continuous music. The haunting and brooding "Crossing the Line" is reminiscent of prog-rockers Alan Parsons Project or pretentious Pink Floyd. Winwood's echo-laden vocals give him an almost palpable and uncomfortable quality, perfectly suited for the austere setting that is light years away from the likes of "Sea of Joy" or "Gimmie Some Lovin'," yet is remarkably akin to "No Time to Live" from Traffic's self-titled platter. Exceedingly soulful is the propellant "Ghost Machine," with DiMeola's fiery fretwork at its best. The funky "Time Is Here" gives Winwood a perfect outlet for his R&B roots, while "Winner/Loser" -- boasting the project's only lyrics penned by Winwood -- concludes with what is arguably the most accessible pop excursion. Robin Denselow's aforementioned essay goes into great detail regarding a rather involved story line aimed at further unifying the otherwise disparate pieces. While the plot won't be ruined here for potential consumers, if your non-musical interests include Dungeons & Dragons, Star Wars and other Brainiac-related activities, the two song cycles that comprise Go will definitely be right up your alley.


01 - Solitude 03:00

02 - Nature 02:35

03 - Air Over 02:28

04 - Crossing The Line 05:05

05 - Man Of Leo 01:57

06 - Stellar 02:25

07 - Space Theme 03:43

08 - Space Requiem 03:50

09 - Space Song 01:39

10 - Carnival 02:48

11 - Ghost Machine 02:09

12 - Surfspin 02:24

13 - Time Is Here 02:54

14 - Winner Loser 04:15

Go here:


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...