After more than 5 years it is time to say good bye and this blog shuts its doors, but there is a follow up project.

Please visit

Thank you very much for all your support through out this time.

Friday, September 7, 2012

Smokin' Joe Kubek & B'nois King 2004 Show Me The Money

Genre: Blues
Rate: 256 kbps CBR / 44100
Time: 00:42:17
Size: 75,60 MB

United States

review by Steve Leggett

Smokin' Joe Kubek and Bnois King's albums are dependable affairs that stick close to good old barroom Texas blues. The lyrics won't win any Pulitzer Prizes, and while Kubek is an amazing guitar player with a huge tone, he isn't exactly reinventing the instrument, and likewise King, although he is a distinctive and pleasant vocalist, isn't going to be mistaken for Marvin Gaye anytime soon. Not much has changed on their second release on the Blind Pig label, and Show Me the Money delivers another dose of straight-ahead roadhouse blues. If there are any concessions here, it is that all the songs pull in at a radio-friendly length, and at least one, the infectious "My Heart's in Texas," would fit effortlessly on "new country" play lists. The first two tracks, "I Saw It Coming" and "Burnin' to the Ground," pretty much lead the charge here, and King's easy, subtle singing pairs nicely with Kubek's gutbucket guitar tone, but there are no real surprises waiting in the grass, and certainly nothing that will shake the roots of the music industry -- just solid blues-rock. Somebody's gotta do it, and Kubek and King do it so well.


01 - I Saw It Coming 03:27

02 - Burnin' To The Ground 04:27

03 - Mirror Mirror 03:25

04 - She Can Smell Another Woman 04:33

05 - My Heart's In Texas 02:05

06 - Invitation Only 04:04

07 - Armadillo Blues 04:32

08 - Can't Keep Her Hands Off 02:29

09 - Stop Messin' With My Mind 02:44

10 - Crazy World 03:58

11 - Let's Stop Pretending 03:25

12 - Tired Of Cryin' Over You 03:08

Smokin' Joe Kubek & B'nois King here:



No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...