After more than 5 years it is time to say good bye and this blog shuts its doors, but there is a follow up project.

Please visit

Thank you very much for all your support through out this time.

Saturday, December 8, 2012

Heartsfield 1973 Heartsfield

Genre: Southern (Country) Rock
Rate: 320 kbps CBR / 44100
Time: 00:59:10
Size: 125,33 MB

United States

Heartsfield's 1973 eponymous debut might be the best-rounded album that country-rock has ever seen. The eclectic mix of country roots, electric rock and roll, and post-Woodstock ethos makes this album a crossroads of sorts for the genre while still being a very unique and ultimately artistic achievement.

The leading track "I'm Coming Home" sets a boot-stompin', country endowed energy that permeates the rest of the album. Quick picking electric and acoustic guitars coupled with high harmonies create a modern bluegrass feel complete with rock and roll jams. Much like the Craig Fuller-lead Pure Prairie League, Heartsfield augments their melodic country songs with long, thematic instrumentation. These jams take on a high-energy, free feeling form. On "Hush-a-bye," the group fluidly travels from easy going, good-natured country-pop to soaring, guitar-lead rock and roll. The intensity and desperation in this instrumentation is of the purest energy and most genuine conveyance. Heartsfield explores other Pure Prairie League territory on "Just That Wind," a mostly acoustic track with writing reminiscent of Craig Fuller. With a mixture of acoustic rhythm and a searching bass line, the song beckons of love and rambling freedom, declaring "I've never felt so free and never would go home again." Like songs on the rest of the album, "Just That Wind" flows into extensive instrumentation. An extended acoustic groove gives way to overdriven electric guitar, climaxing in a penetrating hard rock solo.

Other tracks on the album are reminiscent of the greats of country rock. The dark and brooding "Gypsy Rider," with its cool bluesy feel and intoxicated lyrics seems like it could be written about that same Witchy Woman Don Henley of the Eagles found. "The Only Time I'm Sober Is When You're Gone," a novelty booze track, sounds something like the Flying Burrito Brothers with its steel guitars and deep country sound.

In between the hard rock and intermittent country crooning, Heartsfield crafts some lighter tracks. The stand out is "Understandin' Woman." Here the group's harmonies are at their finest, soaring over the backdrop of fantastic musicianship. Continuing their unique use of instrumentation, the tune jumps into a double-time acoustic-lead jam before ending on dramatic, harmonized refrain.

Though Heartsfield's sound is suggestive of the greats of country rock, they don't merely fit into the genre. They are no cheap imitation of any group. Their use of hard rock solos and lengthy jams is heard nowhere else in country rock like on Heartsfield. Matched with brilliantly thematic composition, Heartsfield delivers a driving, free-wheeling, yet inventive and often sensitive version of country rock and roll. Like Pure Prairie League's Bustin' Out and Poco's A Good Feelin' To Know, Heartsfield is a country rock masterpiece that transcends the genre. (Glenn Jackson Brien)


01 - I'm Comin Home 03:40

02 - Hush A Bye 05:39

03 - Gypsy Rider 04:46

04 - Music Eyes 06:25

05 - Understanding Woman 04:57

06 - Just That Wind 05:37

07 - The Only Time I'm Sober Is When You Are Gone 03:19

08 - Please Save Her Life 06:34

09 - The Wonder Of It All 01:12

10 - I'm Coming Home (Live) 03:22

11 - The Only Time I'm Sober (Live) 03:20

12 - House Of Living (Live) 04:41

13 - The Wonder Of It All (Live) 02:49

14 - Love That Rock 'N' Roll (Live) 02:49

Heartsfield here:




Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...