After more than 5 years it is time to say good bye and this blog shuts its doors, but there is a follow up project.

Please visit

Thank you very much for all your support through out this time.

Sunday, November 7, 2010

Blue Floyd 2008 Begins

Blue Floyd consists of Gov’t Mule bassist Allen Woody along with their drummer Matt Abts. One time Black Crowes guitarist Marc Ford, as well as, Allman Brother’s bassist Berry Oakley are also in the lineup. Johnny Neel takes over on keyboards. Their new 2008 album Begins will be released on Airline Records. It’s flat out the best bunch of covers of Floyd yet. In fact, the musicianship is so good they really transcend themselves above being just a cover band. On the two bonus tracks(Beatles songs Come Together & Taxman), Slick Aguilar, who did session work for David Crosby and Jefferson Starship, plays lead guitar. Blue Floyds versions of Floyds Fearless and Set The Controls for the Heart of the Sun are really stand out and their Hey You/Another Brick in The Wall medley is nicely haunting. The guitar sounds as if it’s actually Gilmour jamming away. Pink Floyd meets Southern Rock! Very highly recommended for all Floydians.



01 - HAL 9000 Intro-Shine On You Crazy Diamond

02 - Have A Cigar

03 - Fearless

04 - Interstellar Overdrive-Wish You Were Here

05 - Drums

06 - Set The Controls For The Heart Of The Sun

07 - Hey You-Another Brick In The Wall Pt 2


01 - In The Flesh - Sheep

02 - Money

03 - Us & Them - Jam

04 - Young Lust

05 - Beatjam - Come Together

06 - Beatjam - Taxman


Download part 1 & 2

Mirror part1

Mirror part2

Enjoy the music!

1 comment:

SouthernBluesRock said...

links renewed with more covers

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...