After more than 5 years it is time to say good bye and this blog shuts its doors, but there is a follow up project.

Please visit

Thank you very much for all your support through out this time.

Monday, February 27, 2012

Bubba Mac Blues Band 2001 Just Life

Genre: Blues
Rate: 176 kbps VBR / 44100
Time: 01:01:30
Size: 79,55 MB

United States

The Bubba Mac Blues Band is a nine-piece ensemble that hails from New Jersey and appears weekly at the Bubba Mac Shack in Somers Point, New Jersey. Their disc Just Life released in 2001 features 14 originals contributed by various members of the group. With Bubba on guitar/vocal and second guitarist Richie Baker also handling vocals along with Terry Showers and Karen Logan the female vocalists the band's four-part harmony, in addition to the instruments creates a "fat" sound, not often heard in today's leaner approach to blues. The overall feel of the album is an easy to listen to harmony filled tour of life's moments. An understated approach to the use of the instruments lends a powerful presence to the songs. Touches of slide guitar (Mr Runaround Town) and violin (Walking with My Baby) are subtly unexpected and interesting.

As mentioned, Bubba handles vocals and adds to the proceedings as one of three guitarists along with Richie Baker and Lew London on lead. Mike Conti and Nick Marion anchor the rhythm section on bass and drums. With Charlie Winters on harmonica and Chris Sooy on keyboards; add the two ladies on vocals and the sound with all nine players contributing is a full on auditory treat. Some of the material covered on this disc includes a tribute to the sixties in 60's Generation, non-smoking: Designated Smoking Area Blues and a woman's good man with: My Man. This is a thoroughly enjoyable disc featuring a wide variety of blues styles and music that has in some cases little to do with blues music styles. It offers a refreshingly big sound in a time when some productions are inclined to try to do more with less. For more on the band visit: (This review is copyright © 2003 by TR Marshall, and Blues On Stage at:


01 - I Know Now (What I Didn't Know Then) 03:39

02 - Thank You Baby 04:02

03 - You Ain't Woman Enough 04:08

04 - Get It Up 04:49

05 - Just Walkin' 04:50

06 - Walkin With My Baby 03:23

07 - Mr. Runaround Town 04:15

08 - Hey Fine Lady 04:47

09 - Take Me Back 03:58

10 - Designated Smoking Area Blues 03:48

11 - 60's Generation 04:47

12 - My Man 05:37

13 - It's Just A Matter Of Time 05:10

14 - I Got The Feeling (In My Soul) 04:17

Bubba Mac Blues Band here:



No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...